Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | September 25, 2011

Easy Recipe: Chicken Salad and Tetrazzini 2 4 1

My motto used to be “If it didn’t get done in the microwave, it didn’t get done.” I’ve since learned to use my electric oven and its four-burner cooktop. But …

Easy Recipe:  Chicken Salad and Tetrazzini 2 4 1

Step 1   Mix two cans of chicken–drained to reduce the salt–with two handfuls of chopped celery and two heaping spoonfuls of mayonnaise. If the mixture is too dry, add more mayonnaise, one tablespoon at a time. Chill.

Step 2   Microwave a one-inch-in-diameter fistful of thin spaghetti in water, with a splash of dry sherry, in a microwave-safe casserole dish for eight minutes. Drain. Add half of the chicken salad to the spaghetti. Stir well. Add a heaping  spoonful of sour cream and another of grated parmesan. Stir thoroughly. Sprinkle more parmesan over the top of the tetrazzini, cover, and microwave for five minutes.

Step 3   Toast two handfuls of breadcrumbs in butter, either on a plate in the microwave or in a small frying pan on the stove. Sprinkle over the tetrazzini. Serve.

Note  The salad and the tetrazzini both yield four servings.

Optional for the salad   For winter chicken salad, generously garnish with dried cranberries and pecan halves. For summer chicken salad, generously garnish with dried pineapple chunks, cashews, and shredded coconut.

Optional for the tetrazzini   Sliced mushrooms, baby peas, diced red bell peppers, or any combination of these may be added prior to cooking.

Responses

  1. Sounds delicious, Ashley! But I think I’ll stop with the spaghetti and dry sherry.

    • Hi Julie, That works, too. This is one of those recipes you can play with and make your own. Cheers, Ashley

  2. YUM!

  3. Yum! Salivating already. This looks like a winner. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • You’re very welcome, Joy. Play with it, and make it your own. Cheers, Ashley

  4. My kind of meal. I plan to use it this week. Thanks, Ashley!

    • Hi Jolyse, You’re very welcome. Hope you enjoy it, too. Every time I make it, it’s different, due to the different optional ingredients. Cheers, Ashley

  5. Wow, sounds great! I’ll have to try these soon. But I’d probably do it the old fashioned way and not in the microwave. I’m not a fan of electric ovens or stoves; it wasn’t until I was introduced to gas cooking after I’d been married that I learned to love to cook. Hopefully at some point, you’ll get the joy of a gas stove!

    Oh – but if you ever want a yummalicious hollandaise sauce, I’ve got a PERFECT microwave recipe. I don’t make it any other way – and it’s better than 99% of all the hollandaise sauces I’ve ever tasted!

    Cheers dear!

    • Hi Christine, Oooh! Please share your “yummalicious hollandaise sauce” here. It sounds fabulous. I love hollandaise on almost any vegetable. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

