Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | October 28, 2011

Favorite Tip #10: Good Leaders

With the presidential election season looming …

Favorite Tip #10:

Three criteria for a good leader.

1.  Love – A good leader cares about the people she or he serves.

Warning signs – The leader speaks about hatred for a segment of their voting population. Examples: anti-Semitic remarks, anti-Muslim remarks, expresses hatred for Wall Street and bankers, expresses hatred for writers who include fluffy kittens in all of their novels.

2.  Respect – A good leader values his or her people’s abilities, knowledge, and skills.

Warning signs – Liberals calling conservatives extremist or stupid, conservatives calling liberals extremist or stupid, libertarians calling totalitarians extremist or stupid, totalitarians calling libertarians extremist or stupid, centrists calling all of the above extremist or stupid.

3.  Trust – A good leader trusts her or his people’s ability to govern themselves.

Warning signs – Excessive laws, regulations, and taxes.

Responses

  1. I am so lucky that my current manager at work has these traits! Otherwise my already stressful job would really stink. I know this is bent towards politics but these criteria are valuable in any leadership postion!

    • Hi Casey, You’re so blessed to have a great manager. They are very rare and precious. And these criteria–love, respect, and trust–also work for heroines and heros trying to achieve their happily-ever-afters (HEAs). Cheers, Ashley

  2. Exactly why I do what I do, Ashley—instead of writing romance, which I still want to do. Just never have the time right now. But it’s still my dream to write a romance. Meanwhile, I must continue the fight against un-leadership-like oppressive government.
    BTW, love the last part about love!!
    🙂
    Thanks for this post
    Your RebelHeart CC friend,
    Julie

    • You’re very welcome, Julie. Political posts are difficult for me to write, because I’m trying to make them unbiased. Cheers, Ashley

      • I know what you mean. I try to keep them separate–which is why I have two facebooks.

      • Hi Julie, For your two passions, having two facebook profiles is a great idea. Cheers, Ashley

      • And if anyone from one of the writing groups I belong to would like to be my friend there, you can look under the name, JulieLaLondeRobinson, to send a friend request. I don’t mix them because I don’t want to offend anyone.

      • Hi Julie, Thank you. I’ll stop by when my intermittent Internet connection stays on for more than two minutes at a time. Cheers, Ashley

  3. Concise, yet very relevant. Any organization that is lacking any one of these will rarely, if ever, get the best from their employees. Thank you for pointing this out in such a direct, succinct way.

    • You’re very welcome, Seth. These three criteria can be applied to politics, organizations, marriages, and characters–heroines and heros and villains–in novels. Cheers, Ashley

  4. And this is exactly why I resigned from a major national bank., They throw the word leader and leadership around but wouldn’t recognize it if it bit themon the end of the nose. You might enjoy my most recent post http://kvictoriasmith.blogspot.com/2011/10/grandma-and-doing-what-you-have-to-do.html

    • Thank you, Victoria. I’ll check out your website. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

