Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | September 3, 2012

Factoid #31: National Debt Clock

Factoid #31: National Debt Clock

Several friends asked why getting current national debt data was so difficult. Here’s the link to the U. S. National Debt Clock. These numbers really fly.

http://www.usdebtclock.org/

My two cents (but please share yours):

This debt-clock information opened my eyes, especially the U. S. debt held by foreign countries and the actual unemployed numbers. I’m a firm believer in going to the source for information. I encourage all my friends to check out this link.

Responses

  1. Holy piggy bank Batman! My portion of the national debt is darned near my own persona debt, including the house!!!!

    • It’s definitely scary, Mona. Be sure to check out the rest of the numbers–more frightening than a horror flick. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I took at look but, honestly, it’s too overwhelming to wrap my mind around it.
    Patti

    • Just take the numbers one block at a time, Patti. If you look at the whole thing, it’s not only overwhelming. It’s also depressing. Cheers, Ashley

  3. I’m a canadian so excuse my lack of knowledge, please. I am confused — why does the RNC carry on about medicare and social security when either one of them is slightly more than the cost of the war that’s ongoing? couldn’t costs and debt be brought into line (or a big step in that direction) if the war was ended? since the invasion of Iraq was based on WMD and there weren’t any, I have to wonder about the intel the US collects (or the honesty of people involved in that decision). so why not end it and stop the carnage – financially and physically?

    I ask only because you seem to be pretty knowledgeable Ashley and it’s something i have never understood.

    • Hi Louise,
      These are loaded questions. I will try my best to give you answers.
      It is my understanding that the Republicans want to save Medicare and Social Security from bankruptcy. If left alone, both these programs will fail, and no one will have coverage. During the convention, the plans to save these programs were covered pretty thoroughly on certain media outlets and not covered at all on others.
      With the focus of the war on Afghanistan, many Republicans no longer favor this war and believe it should be ended. Near as I can tell, opinions on this issue vary widely within both political parties.
      As for the WMDs, well, there was a long leadtime between when the focus initially shifted to Iraq and when Iraq was attacked. Even after numerous documentaries, it is still unclear, IMHO, what really happened. There are too many players with political agendas to trust the provided details.
      Hope this helps.
      Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

