Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | April 22, 2013

Question of the Week #22 – 2013: Future Technology

Question of the Week #22 – 2013: Future Technology

Several articles claim that personal computers are almost obsolete and laptops will be gone in about five years. Do you agree with these predictions, and what devices will replace them?

My two cents (but please share yours):

PCs and laptops will likely be replaced first by enhanced tablets then companels. Five years may be a bit aggressive, but ten years is realistic.

Responses

  1. Yes, I think five years is unrealistic. What the heck are companels?

    • Hi Patti, Companels are flat computers that can be sized like tiles (panels) to cover walls, arms of chairs, table tops, etc. One day, these computers will be installed everywhere, on every available surface. Then we’ll rarely need to tote portable laptops, tablets, e-readers, or phones. Companels already exist and should be commercially available in the next few years. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I love my laptop! What would replace it??

    • Hi Jolyse, Currently, tablets are taking over. But soon, we’ll go handheld-device-free with companels. Cheers, Ashley

  3. Next, you’ll tell me I won’t be able to buy a new hand-crank to start my car! Okay, I’m not quite that old fashioned, but I generally hate every advance in technology that comes along.

    • Um … yeah, David, the hand-crank has to go. I have to admit, I love new techie stuff, especially if it means one less contraption I have to carry in my handbag. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

