Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | May 22, 2013

What are You Reading This Week? 5-22-2013

What are You Reading This Week? 5-22-2013

(Please share book titles, authors, and genres. Please keep comments kind and generous.)

In fiction?

In nonfiction?

My two cents:

In fiction?  I’m a third of the way through the contemporary romance, “Love Irresistibly,” by Julie James.  “The Art of Hearing Heartbeats” by Jan-Philipp Sendker, a book club book, is next in this queue.

In nonfiction?  “The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide To Character Expression” by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi is up next in this queue.

Responses

  1. I found Susan Mallery about a week ago. Anything by her, it seems, is a great read.

    • Thank you so much, Patti. Her name’s familiar, but I can’t remember if I’ve read her before–will have to check her out. Cheers, Ashley

  2. Bunker Hill by Nathaniel Philbrick

    • Are you liking “Bunker Hill,” Casey?

      • Yes. I also enjoyed and recommend Mayflower.

      • Thank you very much, Casey. I’ll have to check them out. Cheers, Ashley

  3. I’m almost done with an indie-published thriller, The Devil’s Bloodline by Andy Smith. I don’t usually do thrillers, but this one has had me on the edge of the seat. Plus, I’ve been reading Angel Kin, Tricia Skinner’s sequel in her Angel Assassins series (lucky me, it won’t be out for a while yet – the benefits of being a CP!). Great urban fantasy.

    The Emotion Thesaurus is excellent – it sits by my laptop, well-used.

    • Those are both new authors to me, CJ. Thank you for sharing them. So good to hear “The Emotion Thesis” will be a useful resource. Cheers, Ashley

  4. I’m reading Finding Meara. I don’t normally read fantasy, but the author, Lara Schiffbauer, is a dear friend whom I owe much.

    • You’re showing support in the best way possible, David. Thank you for introducing us to her and her work. Cheers, Ashley

  5. I’m reading The Philosopher and the Druids by Phillip Freeman, and I just finished a novella by a friend, S.G. Rogers called The Ice Captain’s Daughter. 🙂

    • Hi Juli, Thank you so much for sharing these authors. I’ll make sure I check out your friend’s stories. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

