Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | December 2, 2013

Rescue Word of the Week #27 – 2013: Hope

The rescue word of the week is hope.

Please help save this word from the endangered-word list by adopting it and using it in your thoughts, your speech, your writing, and your deeds.

What does this word mean to you?

My two cents (but please share yours):

Christmas is the season of hope, a time for reflection and new beginnings. Hope is often lost amid the shopping bargains, tinsel, and football. Between now and December 25, please take a moment to think about this rescue word.

Responses

  1. I agree with you that we should take a bunch of time-outs before Christmas to reflect on many things, all good – like gratitude and hope and love, etc.

    • Absolutely, Patti! There’s a reason for the season, and it’s not shopping. Although, there’s always room in the closet for a new pair of fabulous shoes. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  2. The word hope has a special significance for me: my youngest daughter’s middle name is Hope. I hear it on a daily basis whenever I have to use her first and middle name! My husband and I agreed on it for a couple of reasons: we once heard that patience requires hope and I’m notoriously low on the patience scale and also because of a verse from Jeremiah.
    Having said that I agree with your reply that there is a reason for the season but that sometimes one does have to go shop for a new pair of shoes or get a hot fudge sundae or do something that renews your hope in good things to come!

    • So true, Tanya. The foodie in me especially likes the part about the hot fudge sundae. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

