Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | January 11, 2014

Something to Think About #1 – 2014

Something to Think About#1 – 2014

Someone recently accused technology of being a steamroller.

My two cents (but please share yours):

I tend to agree. Technology’s march forward is relentless. An individual must either climb aboard and claim a passenger’s seat–maybe even the driver’s seat–or stand in the way of technology, getting rolled over, or step aside and find themselves left behind. Embracing technology, perhaps even helping to guide it, is an act of courage. The other choices are, at least in part, acts of fear.

Responses

  1. I guess it depends on what you’re referring to. I know there are lots of people who don’t want a cell phone because it interrupts their conversations and their lives. Some don’t want to Tweet or go on FB because they think it’s all about people telling others what they ate for breakfast that day. So, there are various reasons for people not embracing all the techno stuff out there. Then there are those of us who have their iPhones and iPads and Ipods and I-everything else and we enjoy them but sometimes want to throw them out the window because we’re sick of being “tied” to them night and day. I don’t “fear” all the techno advances. I think it’s wonderful that I can Google anything and find out the answer in a few seconds. But I don’t want all the techno stuff to rule my life. But that’s in MY hands. Fear it? No. Find it wonderful? Yes. Find it can be tiring and irksome and invasive? Yes, at times.

    • Excellent points, Patti! Technology can invade our lives, which is why we may want to take the driver’s seat frequently. Cheers, Ashley

  2. Most technology passed me by long ago. I find myself frequently scratching my head and thinking, “What are they talking about?”

    • Hi David, You probably know a lot more than you realize. We’ve covered many of the nanotechnology applications here in the Fun Factoids, and I plan to revisit them in the coming year as well as cover a bunch of new high-tech applications. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

