Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | July 1, 2014

Superfood of the Week – Broccoli

Superfood of the Week – Broccoli

What is your favorite recipe that uses this food?

My two cents (but please share yours):

In the summer, I like to cook broccoli, chill it, and chop it into garden salads. In the winter, I make a microwave version of broccoli-and-cheddar soup. The soup base is equal parts mayonnaise, Greek yogurt, and parmesan thinned out with broth. Then I add in the chopped broccoli, a couple handfuls of shredded sharp cheddar, and several shakes of onion powder. Play around with the quantities of these ingredients until you get the right balance for you. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. I love broccoli but am in love with broccolini which Dr. Oz said is even better.

    • Hi Patti, I think you could just substitute chopped broccolini for the broccoli. Enjoy. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I love broccoli stems. Florets – not so much. Usually just nuke a bowl of frozen stems with some frozen corn and plenty of butter. Can’t have them too often because of the vitamin K. Have to keep my blood thinness under control.

    • I’ve never mixed broccoli and corn before, David. Sounds good. I’ll have to give them a try. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

