Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | August 12, 2014

Question of the Week #36 – 2014

Question of the Week #36 – 2014

Do you know and talk with your representatives in Congress?

My two cents (but please share yours):

  1. Look up your representative and both of your senators online
  2. Write down their Washington D.C. office phone numbers
  3. Write down the three points you want to share or questions you want to ask
  4. Call them and insist on speaking with a staff person, instead of leaving a voicemail message

You’d be surprised how happy they are to talk to an actual voter and not a lobbyist. Give this a try for at least three months. After all, they can only represent you if you tell them what you think and want.

I did this, and I call in about once per month.

Responses

  1. Have to admit I don’t talk to mine. I’m fortunate that my Congresswoman and both Senators agree with most of my positions, so I don’t need to call and try to persuade them to change positions.

    • Hi again, David. I’d still recommend talking with them to balance out the many calls they receive asking them to change their positions. Cheers, Ashley

  2. Answer: yes

    • Yeah, Lorian! Never, never stop. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

