Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | August 27, 2014

Question of the Week #39 – 2014

Question of the Week #39 – 2014

As technology advances, how do we counter its isolating effects?

My two cents (but please share yours):

Renew the physical bonds with others–touch. Never do any of the following by yourself.

  • Gardening with your hands deep in the dirt
  • Cooking with your hands in your food–play with it
  • Participate face-to-face in a club (book club, garden club, wine club, motorcycle club, etc.)
  • Have dinner with the electronics turned off
Responses

  1. It took a while to adjust to life alone after my husband died and for a while the garden suffered. I’ve always tried as much as possible to eat close to source so I’ll muck around in the kitchen for far longer than a writer should.
    And I started going to dog Agility classes to meet people I would never have encountered otherwise. A plus is the extra exercise I get while playing with my dogs

    • You’re taking everything at your own pace, Mona. That’s so courageous and will serve you well over the coming years. I’m very glad you’ve found an activity that allows you to meet new people. You go girl! Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

