Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | August 27, 2014

Question of the Week #40 – 2014

Question of the Week #40 – 2014

Should romance writers blog or picoblog (smartphone-size blog) about the “forbidden topics,” namely, politics, religion, and sex?

My two cents (but please share yours):

Yes, as long as it is done with good taste, sensitivity, and respect for other viewpoints. The reason is that these topics are often where the fire, our passion, lurks. Exploring these topics provides the depth in stellar writing.

Responses

  1. that’s a tough one, and asks for quite a bit of thought. I tend to steer away from serious controversy since there is no winning a religion or political debate these days. And I have to admit my blood pressure soars when I encounter blind prejudice

    • Hi again Mona, You’re right. Both writers and their readers need to treat each others’ viewpoints with respect, leave all prejudice at the door. However, it is also important to express our views and not censor others–or ourselves. Cheers, Ashley

  2. The advice I’ve received and follow is it’s okay if you’re books are related to those subjects but to stay away otherwise. Since my first book and current WIP are Christian nonfiction, I blog on Christianity every Tuesday. So far I’ve refrained from political discussions, although the case could be made that some of my blogs border on political. I’m tempted to blog on politics, since I do hold very strong political opinions, but I probably won’t unless I begin writing books that are political. If I did, I’d probably pick up as many conservative readers as I lost liberals, and that would help book sales at that point.

    • A comfortable way to handle politics in blogs and picoblogs is to focus on definitions of political terms, David. Education is less controversial than sharing opinions. And you are so very familiar with the definitions of political terms that many are not familiar with. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

