Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | August 27, 2014

Superfood of the Week – Lemons

Superfood of the Week – Lemons

What is your favorite recipe that uses this food?

My two cents (but please share yours):

Before continuing with this citrus superfood theme, I must confess that I’m a lemon fanatic. I squeeze a little lemon juice anywhere I can get away with it.

This summer, I’ve been adding the juice of two lemons–and the zest–to broth, and then using this broth to cook pasta. Drain and plate the pasta, and add cooked sliced mushrooms, another couple of squeezes of lemon juice, an avalanche of parmesan cheese, and generous dustings of chopped parsley and dried marjoram. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. When I can find good lemons I like to squeeze it into my hot water in the morning (prelude to coffee) I like it on/in chicken with some rosemary but oh yummmmmm in cheesecake

    • Lemon cheesecake, Mona, yum is right. Cheers, Ashley

      • and soooo easy to low carb

      • Amen, Mona. Carbs are my downfall most of the time. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I am a simple lemoner. I have hot water with lemon and honey in the mornings. And, I always add lemon juice to my pancake and waffle batters.

    • Lemon-and-honey water is great for the throat in winter, Lorian. And your pancakes and waffles sound yummy. Cheers, Ashley

  3. LEMON PIE. Almost as good as chocolate pie.

    • You’re so right about lemon pie, David! Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

