Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | December 9, 2014

Superfood of the Week – Quinoa

Superfood of the Week – Quinoa

What is your favorite recipe that uses this food?

My two cents, but please share yours:

I’m a newcomer to quinoa and would love any suggestions y’all might have. So far, I’ve tried microwave cooking quinoa in broth (chicken or mushroom) until tender. Next, I add a generous layer of parmesan and nuke until the cheese is melty. It makes a cozy, warm breakfast on a chilly morning. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. I discovered quinoa since diagnosed as allergic to gluten…once in a while it’s okay, but not my favorite. Next time I make it, I’ll use your recipe – maybe that will help! 🙂

    • For quinoa, CJ, play around with the liquids you cook it in and the savory or sweet toppings until you find a combination that appeals. Parmesan always makes dishes taste better in my world. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  2. I add a thick type soup on top.

    • Ah! So that’s where you get your flavor, Gerri. Great idea. Cheers, Ashley

  3. Is this real, or did you just make it up?

    • It’s real, David. 🙂 Although not great, this recipe is the best I could come up with for this superfood. If you have a better recipe, please share. I think we’re all looking for ways to make quinoa taste better. Cheers, Ashley

      • Sorry. Never heard of quinoa.

      • Hi again, David. Quinoa is one of those ancient grains that’s loaded with nutrients. It’s becoming popular because many are going gluten-free. I like the texture of this grain, but the flavor needs serious assistance. It is often used as a substitute for rice as well. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

