Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | January 22, 2015

Foodie Corner – 2015 – Post #2 – Chicken Soup

My motto used to be “If it didn’t get done in the microwave, it didn’t get done.” I’ve since learned to use my electric oven and its four-burner cooktop. But …

Foodie Corner – 2015 – Post #2 – Chicken Soup

What is your favorite recipe that uses this food?

My two cents, but please share yours:

As mountain cedar allergies strike with a vengeance, take 2c cooked white-meat chicken, 1/3c diced celery, 1/3c diced carrots, 1/3t ground thyme, 1/3t dried parsley, 1/3t pepper, and 2c uncooked curly noodles, and stir them together in a microwave-safe pot. Then add 20 oz. of chicken broth, and nuke for about 9 minutes until the noodles are soft. Serve immediately. Just smelling the steamy broth helps abused sinuses.

Be sure to play with this recipe. Make it your own. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. Funny you should bring this up. I’m working my way through a batch of chicken soup I made in the crock. When I buy or bake a who chicken, I eat what I want for a couple of days then freeze the carcass. Every couple weeks I shove all those carcasses in the crock. Once all the meat is falling off I pull out the bones (at least the major ones) then add celery, cabbage, squash, maybe some onions. Then cook it some more. I might add chopped hot green chiles when I serve it or some other special yummies.
    The flavor is incredible. Right now I’m making up pork bone broth with lots of meat off the bones for a mole or maybe a green chile stew. It’s cold out here in New Mexico

    • Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, Mona. Saving the carcasses in the freezer is a wonderful idea. And any meat cooked on the bone is going to have great flavor. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I thought chicken soup was a recipe. I just open the can, pour it in a large bowl, nuke it, and eat it. Pretty simple.

    • A truly classic recipe, David. And it always works. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  3. HI, ASHLEY. I TRIED THE CHICKEN SOUP RECIPE BUT ENDED UP USING THE PRESSURE COOKER. (THE CHICKEN WAS PARTIALLY FROZEN). I ONLY HAD PASTA WHEAT NOODLES, ANYWAY I FOLLOWED YOUR RECIPE AND IT WAS DELICIOUS. I MADE IT IN 12 MINUTES AND DOUBLED THE VEGETABLES AND ADDED MORE BROTH!! TRY THIS VARIATION,YOU’LL LIKE IT. ELIZABETH & MIRIAM

    • Hi Elizabeth and Miriam, I tried your recipe over the weekend, and it worked very well of course. So glad you made this recipe your own. Be sure to keep playing and experimenting. Cheers, Ashley

  4. I just found a buffalo chicken soup recipe I’m going to try for Super Bowl Sunday…although I’ll use a mild pepper since I’m a heat wimp. 🙂

    • Hi CJ, I’m guessing that you’re adding both mild pepper sauce and a little butter to a basic chicken soup recipe. Does anything else need to be added to get the buffalo chicken soup to the right consistency and flavor? Please share. By the way, I’m a heat wimp, too. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  5. I use it warmed up and thinned with milk then add cheese that melts to create a cheese sauce of potatoes or broccoli

    • This recipe does work as a great base for cheese sauce, Linda. You can also use this same cheese sauce recipe as a base for Tex-Mex queso by adding a can of Rotel tomatoes (mild or spicy), a handful of chopped fresh cilantro, 1-2t cumin, and either precooked black beans or ground beef. Just keep microwaving and stirring until thoroughly blended and toasty warm. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

