Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | February 17, 2015

Techie Corner – 2015 – Post #5 – Privacy Line

Techie Corner – 2015 – Post #5 – Privacy Line

As surveillance technology advances, where should we set the privacy line?

My two cents, but please share yours:

Round-the-clock personal surveillance and financial monitoring are happening now, and expanding. It may already be too late to stop these. In addition to keeping a close eye on the “watchers,” we should think about where to draw a hard line for privacy. At a minimum, I’m leaning toward keeping all electronics and sensors out of our master bedrooms and bathrooms–definitely not a fan of smart (medical) toilets.

Responses

  1. You don’t want NSA watching what goes on in your bedroom? I’m shocked. Seriously, this whole subject leaves me in a quandary. I want them to have all the tools they can use to fight crime and terrorism, but at the same time, I don’t want the rights of innocent civilians trampled. I wish I knew where that line should be drawn.

    • I’m not as worried about the NSA as I am about hackers and rogue insurance companies (hence, the smart toilets), David. But you’re right, it is a difficult question, and we’ll need to answer it sooner than any of us wish to. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

