Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | April 14, 2015

Foodie Corner – 2015 – Post #5 – Easy Flatbread Pizzas

My motto used to be “If it didn’t get done in the microwave, it didn’t get done.” I’ve since learned to use my electric oven and its four-burner cooktop. But …

Foodie Corner – 2015 – Post #5 – Easy Flatbread Pizzas

How do you top your flatbread pizza?

My two cents, but please share yours:

To make a flatbread pizza quickly and easily, I use a whole wheat tortilla as the base. When a golden brown topping is a must, I’ll cook the pizza at 400 F for about 5-7 minutes. Otherwise, I just nuke for 1-2 minutes to melt the cheese.

Now to top my flatbread pizza, I like to use mushrooms and bacon, precooked and diced, and feta cheese. As soon as I remove the bubbly pizza from the oven, I’ll top it with salad greens, especially arugula if I have that on hand. But even iceberg lettuce works. Be sure to serve the pizza immediately. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. Don’t understand the concept.

    • Hi David, Flatbread pizzas with a wide range of toppings are popular right now, but messing with the dough is rather time consuming. Tortillas make a quick and easy alternative. What toppings do you like to use? Any unusual but tasty combinations? Cheers, Ashley

  2. Ooh, I’m going to try this with corn tortillas! Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

    • You’re very welcome, CJ. With your Tex-Mex corn tortillas, you might enjoy some fusion combinations such as Thai or Italian toppings. French toppings can be interesting, too, with caramelized onions and gruyere cheese or even a little beef burgundy on top of Swiss cheese. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

