Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | September 9, 2015

Book Corner – 2015 – Post #7

Book Corner – 2015 – Post #7

What are you currently reading?

My two cents, but please share yours:

For fiction, I’m breezing through the “Chesapeake Bay Saga” by Nora Roberts, already on Rising Tides (Book 2 of 4).

For nonfiction, I’m still trudging through–at about the 70% point–John Hospers’ Libertarianism: A Political Philosophy for Tomorrow. So far, this book has definitely been worth the effort. This is the first of four books I plan to read that tackle the four major US political philosophies. (Libertarians are high-freedom centrists. They prefer fewer social/personal regulations and fewer economic regulations and taxes.)

Responses

  1. I haven’t read any Nora in ages. What a great contrast in reads. I am going ever so slowly through a scifi anthology. Too busy watching tennis to read 😉

    • Hi Catherine, I’m guessing you’ve read Nora writing as J. D. Robb. I find her “In Death” series to be a lovely combination of near-future sci-fi and classic Nora romance. If you haven’t read her in a while, you might enjoy some of her recent stories in the series. Cheers, Ashley

      • Ooh it was a long time ago . I think it was under her name, all romances.

      • Some of her newer stories, written both as Nora Roberts and as J. D. Robb, are among her best, Catherine. Cheers, Ashley

      • I will look some up cheers 🙂

      • Enjoy, Catherine! Cheers, Ashley

  2. Lee Childs 61 Hours, part of the Jack Reacher series.

    • Jack Reacher is always a good read, David. Cheers, Ashley

  3. I just finished my first romantic suspense, Midnight Fire by Lisa Marie Rice. I loved it! Now I’m onto A Murder of Crows by one of my all-time favorite authors, Anne Bishop.

    • One of the best things about doing this Book Corner picoblog, CJ, is that y’all keep sharing new-to-us authors we can try. Thank you for two more. Cheers, Ashley

  4. I just finished the second book of Anthoy Ryan’s Raven’s Shadow trilogy and started the third. Great fantasy. Grim with lots of epic battling. Love it.

    • The series sounds like a lot of fun, D. Wallace. Cheers, Ashley

  5. I am reading Heartbreak Hotel by Deborah Moggach, author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. A page turner, for me.

    • Hi Jackie, Is the Heartbreak Hotel as good as The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel? Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

