Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | January 22, 2016

Book Corner – 2016 – Post #1

Book Corner – 2016 – Post #1

What are you currently reading?

My two cents, but please share yours:

For fiction, I’m currently reading Crazy Love You by Lisa Unger. This story is off to a good but somewhat creepy start, so I’m reading it in small doses and only my husband is at home.

For nonfiction, I’m reading The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin. This book covers the presidencies of Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft and the beginning of the Progressive Era.

Responses

  1. Actually right now, I am reading nothing, except old favourites like ( don’t laugh)- Junie B.Jones, which gives me a laugh and some Archie comics.
    Susie

    • We all need laughter, Susie. I think it’s great that you’re reading comics. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  2. I’m still working my way through the vanDyke books, right now “Nature for its Own Sake”.

    Also “The French Broad” by Wilma Dykeman, the story of the river..

    Just finished the graphic novel (vol 1) of “Stand Still Stay Silent” by Minna Sundberg.
    http://www.sssscomic.com/

    • Hi Aunt Mary, I haven’t explored graphic novels, yet, but I will at some point. A couple of my favorite authors have published in this genre. Crazy Love You by Lisa Unger is actually about a graphic novel artist. Cheers, Ashley

  3. Fatal Demand – a novel my friend Nigel Blackwell co-wrote with Diane Capri.

    • Hi David, This new novel’s summary on Amazon looks very interesting. Please let us know how you like it. Cheers, Ashley

  4. I had to laugh. I think I’m reading the same thing as when you asked this question last. I really long fantasy trilogy that I’ll finish this weekend!

    • When you finish your trilogy, D. Wallace, please let us know how you liked it. Cheers, Ashley

      • I finished it last night – The Cycle of Arawn by Edward Robertson. It was loooong but great. That reminds me I have to write a review. 🙂

      • So glad you enjoyed it, D. Wallace. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  5. I’m reading my way through the Georgette Heyer mysteries — every one! I’m a sucker for the English country house whodunit.

    • Now there’s a classic series, Angelyn! Hope you love every single story. Cheers, Ashley

  6. I’m currently reading the Martian and the missing twin by Pam Tracy for fiction and Overcome your sedentary lifestyle by PJ Sharon

    • Hi Linda, Did you pick up any handy tips from PJ Sharon? Please share here. Cheers, Ashley

      • Sorry for the delay. About 40% of the book is background information and health tips using a variety of alternative medicines. 55% is about stretching with lots of pictures. And there are a few recipes thrown in. I’m still working through the exercises so I do a variety of stretches every day and there are plenty of modifications for those who might require it. I’m currently looking for those I can do at work for a couple of minutes every hour, and there is an array that can be done in a chair. It is a great resource.

      • Thank you so much for sharing this, Linda. The exercises that can be done in a chair do sound interesting. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

