Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | July 19, 2016

Foodie Corner – 2016 – Post #7 – Playing with Meatloaf

My motto used to be “If it didn’t get done in the microwave, it didn’t get done.” I’ve since learned to use my electric oven and its four-burner cooktop. But …

Foodie Corner – 2016 – Post #7 – Playing with Meatloaf

What is the most misunderstood food?

My two cents, but please share yours:

There are a lot of contenders, but I think the gold medal goes to meatloaf. So, I’ve started playing with meatloaf recipes.

The basic recipe:

Mix 1.5 lbs. of ground meat (beef, turkey, etc.) with 1/2c bread crumbs (or slow-cooking oats), 1/4c liquid (milk, broth, Worcestershire, ketchup, etc.), 1t salt, 1t pepper, and 2t onion powder (or 1T fresh minced onion). Some folks add an egg for additional binding. Pat the meat mixture into a loaf, and cook in the microwave for 10 minutes. Test the loaf to see if it is cooked fully all the way through. Add additional time, depending on the strength of your microwave. For my microwave, I usually need 16 minutes total.

My current favorite variation uses ground turkey with a liquid mixture of skim milk and Worcestershire. Another variation that worked well included ground turkey, chicken broth, no salt (due to the broth), and curry powder.

Play with this recipe. Make it your own. If you come up with a cool, new favorite meatloaf, please share.

Responses

  1. I use the recipe your mom gave me many years ago. 🙂 It’s my favorite. Makes too much, so a number of pieces get frozen for future use.

    The one change I made was to use a small can of tomato sauce instead of catsup. Not quite so sweet, a bit more zing.

    • Hi Aunt Mary, I love Mom’s meatloaf, too, especially since she slow-cooks it in the oven and not the microwave. I’m not that patient. The 16 minutes is pushing it for me and my love of 5-10 minute meals. Replacing the liquid with tomato sauce is a great idea–will have to try it. I’m also contemplating whether a couple Asian variations might work. I’ll give them a try very soon. Cheers, Ashley

  2. I was just thinking of making meat loaf. Thanks!

    • You’re so welcome, Beth. Be sure to play with different liquid-and-spice combinations, different ethnic cuisines for variety and fun. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

