Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | October 18, 2016

Foodie Corner – 2016 – Post #10 – My Mom’s Best Fudge Recipe

My motto used to be “If it didn’t get done in the microwave, it didn’t get done.” I’ve since learned to use my electric oven and its four-burner cooktop. But …

Foodie Corner – 2016 – Post #10 – My Mom’s Best Fudge Recipe

What family recipe was my mom finally willing to share?

My two cents, but please share yours:

Her best fudge recipe. This recipe is not for the faint of heart. It starts with four cups of sugar!

Ingredients:

  • 4c sugar
  • 3/4c butter
  • 1 & 1/2t vanilla
  • 2c miniature marshmallows
  • 1 & 2/3c evaporated milk
  • 2 – 6oz packages of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Butter a 13 inch pan.
  • In a Dutch oven, combine sugar, milk, and butter. Stirring constantly, heat (medium setting) the mixture to 234 deg. F (softball stage) using a candy thermometer.
  • At 234 deg. F, remove the Dutch oven from the heat. Quickly stir in the chocolate chips, marshmallows, and vanilla.
  • Beat the mixture with a wooden spoon until smooth, and pour into the 13 inch pan.
  • Allow to set up.

Note: This fudge is the richest I’ve ever tasted. A generous serving is a one-inch cube. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. That sounds both delicious and hazardous in so many ways!

    • And worth every bite, CJ! 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  2. Chocolate chip cookies. The secret – which I learned on my own and not from my mother – is taking them out of the over WAY before any recipe tells you to. People don’t seem to realize they continue to cook as they cool. They need to be almost liquid in the center in order to be soft once they cool.

  3. Ashley, your mom gave me a nutbread recipe which is out of sight. I eventually passed it on to Kitty, and she made some this year. A big hit. She knows the recipe is not to be shared generally.

    But the most used recipe your mom ever gave me was for meatloaf. It’s been my fallback, my standard, my favorite. I had some for supper this evening. I make it and freeze most of it in single portions. Mmmm. 😀

    Your mom is a very good cook, and her turkey tet. is marvelous. When I first moved up there and stayed with your folks, I felt like I had gone to heaven. Every dinner was just yummy!

    • Hi Aunt Mary, I completely agree with everything you wrote! And just this week, when I asked about sharing her fudge recipe, she reminded me about never sharing the nutbread recipe. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

