Posted by: A. C. Cockerill | January 30, 2017

Techie Corner – 2017 – Post #5 – Autonomous Everything

Techie Corner – 2017 – Post #5 – Autonomous Everything

How far will “autonomous everything” go?

My two cents, but please share yours:

If it can move, it probably will. And it’ll be driverless. Let your imagination run wild!

This is one of my favorites–my back and knees love the idea of being chauffeured by a driverless car that never gets drunk and of having a vacuum that runs, by itself, neatly under chairs and tables. Drones will deliver packages to our doorsteps, shuttles will fly us without human error, and furniture will move itself from room to room or across the country.

We’ll need to be on our guard for hackers and early-stage glitches, as always. Every technology has issues initially, and anything can be weaponized by bad folks, even a benign-looking wooden spoon. But ultimately, the conveniences will be worth it.

What cool driverless gadget are you looking forward to?

Responses

  1. I presume you saw the story of the roomba and the dog poop?

    • Hi Aunt Mary, No, I didn’t see the Roomba story, but I can only imagine. 🙂 Cheers, Ashley

  2. I’m NOT looking forward to driverless cars. I see all sorts of problems with that idea.

    • There will be problems with driverless cars, David. However, every single time I get out on the roads, I’m reminded that cars with drivers have even more problems. I nearly always have at least one close call, usually due to someone talking on their phone instead of focusing on their driving. Ultimately, driverless cars will be so much faster and safer. Cheers, Ashley


Leave a Reply

Categories

